Productivity Update #2

Hey all!

Autocannons are largely finished (only some very minor details remaining) and so I’ve moved on to the Wyvern. 

The Wyvern will likely be used a lot in the near future, adding to the urgency…  I took this photo the other day for the batrep against the Beakies but didn’t wind up using it because the Wyvern looked out of place.

1,500 Point Astra Militarum
Furthermore, it’s the only model NOT PAINTED in this list! Grah! Must fix!

I’m presently base coating with Castellan Green and Tallarn Sand (which often needs 2+ coats for an even finish).  Interesting wrinkle is that I’m doing the console Khorne Red, almost as an experiment.  This console should fall into the background quite easily, but the base colour strikes me as a bit too bright.  I’ll have to use black ink to darken that up a bit so won’t jump out at you and make you think of singing Christmas Carols.

First stab at the greens.
First stab at the greens.
Greens and Yellows basically there now.  I'll need to put one more coat of yellow on the turret piece (I want to call it a Glacis, but I know that's not right).
Greens and Yellows basically there now. I’ll need to put one more coat of yellow on the turret piece (I want to call it a Glacis, but I know that’s not right).  Some of the edging on the same piece (left black, or half-black because I forgot — DERP) will be metallic, I just have yet to decide if it’ll be steel or brass.  I’m leaning to the latter, but we’ll see.
Rear view, with the console there.  Again, I'm scared this'll take too much attention away from the two mans on the back, but I have yet to put colour on them so we'll see how this turns out...
Rear view, with the console there. Again, I’m scared this’ll take too much attention away from the two mans on the back, but I have yet to put colour on them so we’ll see how this turns out…  It still needs another coat.
....because accountability.
….because accountability.
2 Replies to “Productivity Update #2”

  1. You can also darken the reds with a wash (such as badab black) to dull it out some if you feel it’s too distracting. Otherwise I think it looks just fine!

Leave a Reply

