Productivity Update #5 – Scion Construction

Hey all!

Again, another gear shift… I can’t seem to focus on any one thing.  This one was more facilitated by the fact that the World Series was into Game 7 and I find it difficult to paint and watch bases-ball at the same time.  Thus, I started building me some Scions!

I realized very quickly -much like Colin (the Dachshund) - that I had no idea what I was doing.
I realized very quickly -much like Colin (the Dachshund) – I had no idea what I was doing.

Seriously, I love these kits.  The level of detail, the superfluous number of extra heads, the simple number of bitz that my orkz will eventually get to work with…

Everything fits very nicely together, provided you actually follow the friggin’ manual for the backpack and armset combos.  — oh, you already used backpack #32 for the hotshot volley-gun?  Too bad!  Those arms you just cleaned for your next troopie go directly into the bitz box.

Which I guess is my only real gripe about the models themselves — is that they’re so dynamically posed straight off the sprue that it doesn’t leave you any wiggle room to build the one you want to build.  The one plasma gun model is going to be obvious if I wind up building the 4+ gunners that I had planned for by the end of my Scion expansion…

So, with the Giants battling the Royals in Game 7, I commandeered the coffee table as my work space, and quickly got to work...
So, with the Giants battling the Royals in Game 7, I commandeered the coffee table as my work space, and quickly got to work…
DERRRRRP.  Newbie mistake.  Unless my sarge is falling over backwards when hes running this will never wor
DERRRRRP. Newbie mistake. Unless my sarge is falling over backwards when hes running this will never work.
All finished.  Plasma, and HS-Volleygun.  Im going to load these guys to the 9s because elite.  booyeah.
All finished. Plasma, and HS-Volleygun. I’m going to load these guys to the 9’s because elite. booyeah.  I feel it likely that I’ll need to convert a few extra plasma guns because that pose is so… distinctive that it will be obvious if I ever try to have 4x Plasma Scions in my army (and that is the current plan…)  Commissar Potapenko looks like a total boss….
Not to say I haven't been making slow and steady process on the Rox.  Detailing coming along nicely.  Should be done soonish.  :)
Not to say I haven’t been making slow and steady process on the Rox. Detailing coming along nicely. Should be done soonish. 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Productivity Update #5 – Scion Construction”

  1. Sounds like these guys are like necron immortals. You can use any gun you want, as long as it fits the exact back piece it’s supposed to fit…otherwise you create a spring which could explode at any moment!

    I imagine the sheet of paper is something like

    “Using your very first comm unit!”

    1. “Congratulations in purchasing the Vox-Master 8000, the number one Vox-unit for professional Vox-casters throughout the imperium.”

      I think they work around the arm/backpack combo a bit by making the other assault weapons (Flamer, Melta, Plasma) all have zero connection to the pack, otherwise you’d really be stuck between a rock and a hard-place. Again, this is a very minor gripe, I really love the finished product.

Leave a Reply

