Productivity Update #15 – Trygon

Trygon time!

I’m going to post a step-by-step photographic summary here.  I was actually diligent with my photography this time!

Starting Point.  Druchii Violet ink wash over white primer.  Note I've only used the wash over parts that'll be creamy!
Starting Point. Druchii Violet ink wash over white primer. Note I’ve only used the wash over parts that’ll be creamy!
Using a heavy drybrush, go over the inked areas with Screaming Skull.
Using a heavy drybrush, go over the inked areas with Screaming Skull.
Then follow that with a lighter drybrush of skull white
Then follow that with a lighter drybrush of skull white
This is when I hit the reds with Khorne Red...
This is when I hit the reds with Khorne Red…
...and the Carapace with Nagarroth.  I realized here that I forgot some of the spines in the tail section, I did those before the next phase...
…and the Carapace with Nagarroth. I realized here that I forgot some of the spines in the tail section, I did those before the next phase…
Which is inking the reds w/ Nuln Oil and the carapace with Druchii Violet...
Which is inking the reds w/ Nuln Oil and the carapace with Druchii Violet…
After that, it's line highlighting.  SO MUCH line highlighting.  First one is the Xerxes Purple on the carapace, and then Genestealer Purple.
After that, it’s line highlighting. SO MUCH line highlighting. First one is the Xerxes Purple on the carapace, and then Genestealer Purple.
Rawr.
Rawr.
Note that for Tyranid line highlighting, it's done going perpendicular to the lines on the carapace, to give it that chitinous texture.  Use longer lines of Xerxes and shorter lines of Genestealer for the desired effect.  This is time consuming, but worth it!
Note that for Tyranid line highlighting, it’s done going perpendicular to the lines on the carapace, to give it that chitinous texture. Use longer lines of Xerxes and shorter lines of Genestealer for the desired effect. This is time consuming, but worth it!

From here, all I need to do is the claws and the jaws and I’m good to go.

This kit is fantastic.  Even if I wasn’t set on playing a fair force of ‘Nids, I probably would have found myself getting one just to paint up anyways.  Looks so badass.

I’m always looking to get better here, so if you have any critiques or comments please leave a comment below!

Cheers, and happy modelling guys!

-Oak

4 thoughts on “Productivity Update #15 – Trygon”

Leave a Reply

