Weekly Roundup: Inner Child Edition

Alright, so yesterday I found out that a vidya game is getting relatively close to release and it made me deeply regret that my gaming computer gave up the ghost around Christmas time.

That game is World of Warships.

Seriously, how the hell did this sneak up on me so quickly?  It’s already in closed beta?  Whaaaat?

When I was 4, my kindergarten teacher wrote home to my parents with obvious alarm.  “Today in class Oak built a frighteningly realistic model of what he called ‘The Nazi Battleship Bismarck’, and was able to identify the parts of the ship, showing surprising vocabulary, including the appropriate use of the word ‘superstructure’.  Further, all of the guns had names… Anton, Bruno Caesar and Dora…  Upon further review all of this was historically correct.  What are you teaching your child?!?!”

I’m paraphrasing a bit, but that letter exists somewhere.  I swear it.

Of course, where this all stems from is that whenever I went to visit my grandfather, we always wound up watching the National Geographic film pertaining to the discovery and history of the Bismarck.  Robert D. Ballard was my hero growing up (he found the Titanic too, btw), and I wanted to be a Marine Biologist up until Grade 7 (when I figured out what a Marine Biologist actually is).

I loved Navyfield back in the day, but it was very buggy and suffered from a poor balancing system, both things that Wargaming.net and WoT has addressed.  This picture is when I took my German M-Project against one of the Mods who took an Ark Royal out for a spin, the biggest carrier we had seen at the time.  Nearly killed the bastard, but he used his deck-guns to kill me.  *sigh* those were heady days indeed.  (~2005?)
I loved Navyfield back in the day, but it was very buggy and suffered from a poor balancing system, both things that Wargaming.net and WoT has addressed. This picture is when I took my German M-Project against one of the Mods who took an Ark Royal out for a spin, the biggest carrier we had seen at the time. Nearly killed the bastard, but he used his deck-guns to kill me. *sigh* those were heady days indeed. (~2005?)

So you can imagine the inner joy I see when I watch Youtube videos of the Yamato one-shotting destroyers, and an Essex Carrier schooling a group of Japanese battleships.

Seriously, check this stuff out.

I’m a real fan of what those folks over at Wargaming.net are doing.  Spent a lot of time in World of Tanks, and if they can bring that kind of game to the naval theatre I’m all in.

Now I just need a damn computer machine.  *crap*.

Anyways.

I’ve done some hobby stuff.  I’ve started working on the Blood Angels from the Deathstorm, and am pretty much finished Cassor, and my test terminator.  Once I wrap up these guys I’ll likely take a stab at Cap’n Karl.

Cassor still has some detailing left, as does the Terminator Sarge.
Cassor still has some detailing left, as does the Terminator Sarge.
Close up... Still some detailing left to do...
Close up… Still some detailing left to do…
Another close up from the back... He should turn out pretty good for the table-top I think!
Another close up from the back… He should turn out pretty good for the table-top I think!

Oh, and I guess I haven’t mentioned this — but I got in a game against a pretty tough Nid List with 3x Flying Tyrants and 2x Crones…  Pitched battle, casualties were very heavy on both sides, and I was lucky the game ended when it did.  Wound up winning by 2 VP, but if the game had gone on I likely would have lost.

Gaming at the shop these days has been more like gaming against the clock, so as a result I haven’t been taking notes and limited pictures.  But here’s the few I did take…

3x Flyrants, 2x Crones, 2x Toxicrenes, 2x Tervis (troops), 60 Gaunts and that's about it.
3x Flyrants, 2x Crones, 2x Toxicrenes, 2x Tervis (troops), 60 Gaunts and that’s about it.
Probably the all-star (again) were the Bullgryns and Priest, who killed about 47 gaunts before being crushed in 3 turns of combat against a pissed off Mama.
Probably the all-star (again) were the Bullgryns and Priest, who killed about 47 gaunts before being crushed in 3 turns of combat against a pissed off Mama.

Although, should also be noted that FRFSRF order also get a lot of work done, grounding (and killing) 2 of those flyrants.  Scions handled themselves appropriately as well, knocking down one of the Mamas and capturing more than a few objectives.

Anyhoo.  That’s about it for me!  Cheers guys, have a great weekend!

-Oak

6 thoughts on “Weekly Roundup: Inner Child Edition”

  1. Wow! Go Bullgryns. That is quite a group to kill off! I can’t play world of warships…world of tanks drained my soul…playing company of heroes 2 right now…

    Oh and the bismark…the bismark is an amazing ship. Oh god…that game looks too cool…what have you done oak…what have you done.

    1. 3’s to hit, 2’s to wound, 6+ save? You’re going to kill a LOT of gaunts. They were hurt by not taking toxin sacs, to be sure.

      Yeah, I’m dangerously stoked about that game. You don’t see this too often from me. But I’m not excited at all to shell out $500+ from my hobby budget in order to replace my (now kaput) gaming rig.

      Soul draining? What didn’t you enjoy about it? Or were you like me and spend ALL THE TIMES on it?

      http://worldoftanks.com/community/accounts/1000265506-Oakenhawk/

Leave a Reply

