Paintcation Update: Days 3 & 4

Hey all!  So days 3 & 4 of the Paintcation are now completed and I have some progress to mention:

Base-coated!  woohoo! Started using Zandri dust instead of a straight tallarn yellow for the tans in the camo.  I don't think I can honestly tell the difference.
Base-coated! woohoo!
Started using Zandri dust instead of a straight tallarn yellow for the tans in the camo. I don’t think I can honestly tell the difference.
Call in the reinforcements!  My Dark Angel Bro came down and we had an epic painting session...
Call in the reinforcements! My Dark Angel Bro came down and we had an epic painting session…

In which…

THIS GUY got finished.  I like 'im!  I like him A LOT.
THIS GUY got finished. I like ‘im! I like him A LOT.
and I got the Taurox started.  The paint scheme is to match my Vendetta in the Grey / Yellow kind of rock Camouflage with dark grey (skavenblight) as an accent.
and I got the Taurox started. The paint scheme is to match my Vendetta in the Grey / Yellow kind of rock Camouflage with dark grey (skavenblight) as an accent.

I think I might accent a bit more, by making the fenders the dark grey. In this way it breaks up the Yellow/Grey pattern a little bit and adds a little complexity.

The Fleur De Lis-esque heraldry will be in the brass, and it will show through pretty nicely as an accenting tone as well. I’m excited to get it done.

“Well that’s not much progress, given you had TWO WHOLE DAYS to get working on this stuff…” I hear some people scolding…

You’d be right!  Except I also got in a battle against the Tau of my local shopkeep.  Here are a couple of teasers for the full batrep to be written shortly.

2015-03-30 17.21.36

2015-03-30 17.46.19

Also, I cooked a turkey.  Because why not.

Cheers guys, and stay tuned for the next paintcation update.

9 Replies to “Paintcation Update: Days 3 & 4”

  1. That Basilisk looks pretty nice my friend; the red lenses are a REALLY nice touch. I like how the brown on your regular guard and the scions tie into each other and create a holistic scheme. Again, nice work on that forge world kit brother!

    Yesterday after work I finished of my LOS and brought the Siccarin and Hellblade up to about 50%. Hopefully I’ll finish them off tonight, and we will both have some fresh reinforcements for month 3 😉

    1. So what you’re *really* saying is that after the Taurox Prime I should really work on a BA HQ choice. Ok. This can be done.

      This will be a bloody campaign, I can just *tell*.

      1. Haha! Everyone heard it sucks, so nobody shoots at it. Brilliant! (I seriously hope they buff them in the new codex)

        1. it didn’t do too poorly. The TL Rail Rifle drones really hurt, particularly when they can be dropped off where-ever behind enemy lines (on rear arcs, etc.) I just couldn’t be bothered to shoot it.

Leave a Reply

