Death Company Test Model

So those of you who follow me on twitter would have gotten a sneak preview of this guy.  I’m *very* pleased with how he turned out.  I recognize there are better painters out there than me, so if you have any suggestions, please leave them below.  I’m all ears.

So here's the first Work in Progress.  I've just done the general armour, layered up black primer, drybrush skavenblight, drybrush dawnstone.  Afterwards I wash it all with a Nuln Oil.  Swords and pistols I'm hitting with Khorne red.
So here’s the first Work in Progress. I’ve just done the general armour, layered up black primer, drybrush skavenblight, drybrush dawnstone. Afterwards I wash it all with a Nuln Oil. Swords and pistols I’m hitting with Khorne red.
First model pretty much finished.
First model pretty much finished.
Booyeah!  Some minor line highlighting in the finished product as I went back in with the dawnstone around the edges.  I decided to go for red ropes because there's not enough colour on him otherwise.  I was considering gold but opted against it at the last moment.
Booyeah! Some minor line highlighting in the finished product as I went back in with the dawnstone around the edges. I decided to go for red ropes because there’s not enough colour on him otherwise. I was considering gold but opted against it at the last moment.
Another view.  :D
Another view. 😀

Now just to do the rest of the squad.  These Death Company models have so much bling it took me about 3+ hours to do the test!  Now that I have the scheme more or less figured out, hopefully it speeds the process along a bit.

Again, if you have any input I’m all ears.  Cheers guys, and happy gaming.

11 thoughts on “Death Company Test Model”

  1. I really am jealous of the way your black turned out! I wish I had thought of dry brushing, and then washing back in 2013! All of the guides to black ceramite that I have seen have been different attempts at edge highlighting and wet blending; this looks better than 95% of them! Good job

  2. Out of curiousity, what kinda forgeworld stuff didja get? 😛

    Oak, do you mind if I use your pics as references when I do my own death guard? The eldar are packed away due to teh innerwebs doing it’s thing so I took the BA out again. That death guard looks quite cool with the not-quite-black armour and ready to hand out dismembership cards 😀

    Also, should one rebase all previous 25mm marines to 32mm?

    1. LOL, where did I mention FW in this post..? Get outta my brain Warlock!!! (I was considering a Deredeo and a Malanthrope, but have always wanted twin punisher vulture and avenger. So many fun looking toys!!!)

      Of course I don’t mind these pics, and I can take more in a “step by step” when I finish the other 4 if it’ll be of some help 🙂

      I’m not sure if it’s strictly necessary to rebase all your marines, but the 32mm really emphasizes how big these guys are as compared to a guardsman or tau. Don’t think it really makes a difference in game.

      And you should also not let the Internet dictate whether you play eldar or not. Don’t worry about those loonies. Biel-Tan were my favourite eldar too….

      How’s that falcon coming along..?

      1. The falcon is about 90% done, just trying to brighten the green. That’s been packed away though as yeah, any joy has been tainted somewhat. I’ll come back to it though but not for a little while.

        I said FW cuz there’s the telltale signs in the pics- little grey trapezoidal prisms 😛

        I’ll get out of your brain as soon as you put on your Aluminium foil hat 😛

        1. AHHHH, good eye, good eye…. Those ports are actually remnants from the FW Basilisk I put together… I think I posted about it previously. Turned out great, but I definitely had some frustrations in the construction phase…

          I’ve decided recently I’m going to convert my own Deredeo…. now I just need the funds to clear so I can spring into action… *evil grin*

          1. The Rodeo dreadnought looks quite…evil in a dakkadakkadakkadakka kinda way I wish you luck with the convert and hope it smites the enemies of the Emprah 😀

Leave a Reply

