Deredeo Conversion

I teased this before, but here I’m going to show off some progress and throw it open for comment.  There’s a couple of issues with respect to this build so far, and I wouldn’t mind getting some suggestions!

So here this guy is:

deredeo-dreadp1
Sayy…. this guy’s pretty badass…. Twin-linked S8 Autocannons that re-roll failed armour penetrations? if he stands still he can get skyfire and interceptor? He looks pretty pro too… Lets see how much he costs ***DIES***

 

I had a few issues with the overall aesthetic of this chunk of resin as well.  First and foremost, no chicken legs.  Like GIR, I loves me some chicken legs.

Iss got chikeen legs

Second, not a HUGE fan of the boat-contemptor look.  Really, I’d be spending $140 cdn + just punish anything with an armour value and shoot down Heldrakes.  And I did have all of these Hydra parts lying around, and haven’t used my Aegis Defense Line in about a year now….

I might have literally said: "LIGHTBULB."  I'm such a sucker for Disney movies sometimes...  MOVING ON.
I might have literally said: “LIGHTBULB.” I’m such a sucker for Disney movies sometimes… MOVING ON.

A quick internet search of “Sentinel Dreadnought Conversions” was all the fuel I needed to have my motivation completely stoked to life.  I love me some sentinels, you should know that by now.  But making one like THIS:

or these guys…

I liked this thing a lot, but the legs looked like they needed to be longer in order to make the torso work.  With my plan to under-sling the autocannons, they might scrap the ground...  So taller.  Got it.
I liked this thing a lot, but the legs looked like they needed to be longer in order to make the torso work. With my plan to under-sling the autocannons, they might scrap the ground… So taller. Got it.
Much Taller!  But where are the arms?  I don't know, I love this conversion, but it was lacking a certain attitude.
Much Taller! But where are the arms? I don’t know, I love this conversion, but it was lacking a certain attitude.
and that's when I came across this glorious badass, and my fate was all but sealed.
and that’s when I came across this glorious badass, and my fate was all but sealed.

So I ordered in an Ironclad dreadnought and sentinel pretty much as quickly as I could.  The fleetingness of my inspiration level is fickle, so I needed to get on this ASAP.

2015-04-30 16.24.10
I literally waited a single day before my LGS had this in stock. Huge props.

Without further ado (and lacking anything better to do with my spare time) I just dove right in.  I identified the most crucial bit would be to connect the Sentinel legs to the SM Dreadnought torso.  Obviously one is a lot bigger than the other.  This is what I came up with:

 

The all-important hip or groin adapter.  The Sentinel ball-joint was carefully (or viciously w/e) cut away.  The top portion of the sentinel piece was then notched such that the SM piece could fit in snugly, sitting on top.  There are no fewer than 4 surfaces where the glue can adhere to at this stage, and I was very *very* pleased with myself.
The all-important hip or groin adapter. The Sentinel ball-joint was carefully (or viciously w/e) cut away. The top portion of the sentinel piece was then notched such that the SM piece could fit in snugly, sitting on top. There are no fewer than 4 surfaces where the glue can adhere to at this stage, and I was very *very* pleased with myself.
Front on look.  Pretty slick?
Front on look. Pretty slick? Doesn’t need to be perfectly straight because it’ll make him look that much swaggier.
I then set about the leg assembly, which was pretty straight forward, and started with the torso assembly.  Neither of these assemblies really changed very much from the GW kit, except with the Sentinel legs I started gluing SM dreadnought armour plates all over to make them look less gangly.
I then set about the leg assembly, which was pretty straight forward, and started with the torso assembly. Neither of these assemblies really changed very much from the GW kit, except with the Sentinel legs I started gluing SM dreadnought armour plates all over to make them look less gangly.
Torso and legs set, I started working on the main armament, which at present, are HILARIOUSLY long.  I'm probably going to wind up trimming those back some.
Torso and legs set, I started working on the main armament, which at present, are HILARIOUSLY long. I’m probably going to wind up trimming those back some.
LOL-LONG.  (that's what she said?) I figure I'll trim them back about a half inch to aninch.  The Hydra barrels are super long... If I was setting this up like a rifleman, I might have been able to get away with this, but not in this case.  The Breach assembly is actually the Aegis line.  I put it on the mounts that would normally be featuring the storm bolter or flamer or meta-guns.
LOL-LONG. (that’s what she said?)
I figure I’ll trim them back about a half inch to aninch. The Hydra barrels are super long… If I was setting this up like a rifleman, I might have been able to get away with this, but not in this case. The Breach assembly is actually the Aegis line. I put it on the mounts that would normally be featuring the storm bolter or flamer or meta-guns.
Here's a view from the back.  Rawr.  Loves them legs.
Here’s a view from the back. Rawr. Loves them legs.
It was about this time that I started considering the missile configuration.  I'm still on the fence.  The Valk pods are far to big, Sentinels look a bit small right now, based on the gun-size (which will be changed).  Front runners are the Cyclone or the Taurox missile launchers.  The Taurox may look like a poorly textured umbrella, so that's something I've got to avoid.
It was about this time that I started considering the missile configuration. I’m still on the fence. The Valk pods are far to big, Sentinels look a bit small right now, based on the gun-size (which will be changed). Front runners are the Cyclone or the Taurox missile launchers. The Taurox may look like a poorly textured umbrella, so that’s something I’ve got to avoid. Note I’ve also kind of put the optics I’ll be using instead of hands for this dude. I never used the nose-array from the Vendetta (didn’t like it much) so I decided to put it on here. The other hand might feature a search-light or something.

So that’s where I’m at presently.  If you have any suggestions hit me up.

Cheers,

-Oak

8 Replies to “Deredeo Conversion”

    1. Thanks Warlock — but with your powers of divination should should be able to far-see how it turns out…

      Any pointers for us back here in the present…? hehe

      1. I only have eight points…and they’re all on a star.

        The deredeo (or as I call them, rodeo) dreadnought looks fantastic! May I ask if he’s going to have the heavy flamers or heavy bolters integrated? As for missiles, mayhaps the landspeeder ones- a bit of cutting and they could probably fit on the side?

        The only prediction that’ll come true though is that I’m gonna hit some Ethanol in solution and rock some video games.

        Painted up a now OOP moonscape today, experimenting w/ water and natural rock colouration.

        1. !!! I forgot about the integrated weapons!!! Uhh… likely heavy-flamers, because he can only fire 2 systems in the shooting phase and I like the Anvilus / Missile launcher combo the best. Flamers would be an assault deterrent with D3 S5 AP4 overwatch with re-rolls to wound…

  1. Come around class, and settle down. It’s time to award Oakenhawk his purple belt in Jeet-Conversion-Do. Congratulations. Your Black belt is only 1 golden-daemon-award away.

Leave a Reply

