Deredeo Conversion Pt. 3

I know I shouldn’t apologize for these micro posts, but man…  Kinda proud of how he’s coming together…  So bear with me…

Primed!  Since my last post I mounted the missiles and threw on the heavy flamers Warlock told me I forgot (I did.)
Primed! Since my last post I mounted the missiles and threw on the heavy flamers Warlock told me I forgot (I did.)
Wasting exactly zero time, base coating operations began forthwith.
Wasting exactly zero time, base coating operations began forthwith.
Gettin' dat wash down.  Some better painters than I prefer to only put it where it's needed.  I'm not that picky.
Gettin’ dat wash down. Some better painters than I prefer to only put it where it’s needed. I’m not that picky.
Hubba hubba.  I thought I'd stay there for the night... but nope.
Hubba hubba. I thought I’d stay there for the night… but nope.
Instead I drybrushed on the layers for the reds, and started picking out some details.  So for the red armour you have the standard Mephiston > Agrax > Evil Sunz > Fire Dragon 4 paint progression.
Instead I drybrushed on the layers for the reds, and started picking out some details. So for the red armour you have the standard Mephiston > Agrax > Evil Sunz > Fire Dragon 4 paint progression.
and here he is from the back...  That's just some metal dry-brushed over the primer.  It's worked since my 3rd edition Orkz and nothing's stopped working about it.
and here he is from the back… That’s just some metal dry-brushed over the primer. It’s worked since my 3rd edition Orkz and nothing’s stopped working about it.

So there you are:  Progress!  He might be battle ready before the end of the weekend.  If that’s the case, he’ll be swatting down Heldrakes in no time.  😀

 

8 thoughts on “Deredeo Conversion Pt. 3”

      1. I’m pretty sure Mike is game. I’ll be away hiking on the bruce trail peninsula this week:D We should set something up for the weekend of the 23rd or so.

  1. A post is a post. Keeping up with doing them is the important part. Better to have a small post then no post at all! As I said on twitter, he looks great! Really well done!

  2. Don’t worry buddy, I gotchu back 😉

    That is one sweet-as looking dred now 😀 Gotta see pics of him in action!

  3. This is an amazing conversation. I also think I perfer your verison to the Forgeworld Deredeo. It’s fits the theme of your allied Blood Angels, perfectly. Also, watch your beat Matt Batrep on Miniwargaming. I was always curious about the studio and general atmosphere of the staff. They don’t seem to take themselves too serious and seem to enjoy themselves and war gaming which is refreshing. Also your paint job looked amazing.

    1. Heya King! Thank you for your kind words!

      There is a certain polished appeal to the Forge World Deredeo, but in it’s little fluff piece it mentions: “With its formidable carrying capacity and battlefield stability it was once used as a test-bed platform for a number of advanced Legiones Astartes weapons systems, created from the wisdom won by the Great Crusade”.

      This got me thinking. A test platform? It should look a bit more ad-hoc, assembled from a few spare parts. Ideally I think I would have had a Mk. 4 Dreadnought sarcophagus, but couldn’t pass up the extra armour on the Ironclad kit, and the arms were just too damn cool.

      I have to say, I was a bit star-struck walking into MWG. At the time, I had been marathoning their battle reports while I was sitting down at the office in order to get my fix while I worked. You ever have that weird feeling like you know someone but you only just met them? That was definitely the case here.

      I was also pretty shocked at how professional their office seemed, given that their business stems from plastic (& metal) toys. My wife works for a less professional outfit, probably for a smaller paycheque as well. If you’re in the area, I’d definitely recommend dropping in and shaking some hands. Just a bunch of solid guys.

      Something that isn’t advertised (and that I wasn’t expecting necessarily) is that they buy you lunch. It’s awesome. 😀

      As I was packing up I had a great conversation in the parking lot with Kris, and the Zen of painting. It was surreal.

      And thanks again for the compliments. The trick for Youtube painting glory is high contrast. A lot of very detail oriented paint jobs get lost on camera sometimes because they’re too subtle. You really gotta hammer those contrasts!

Leave a Reply

