Not Much Doing

Since I’ve made some pretty drastic head-way in the Derpideo conversion, I haven’t really done too much.

Wait, that’s not really the case.

I guess I accidentally base-coated all my Termagants, the 3 remaining H-Gaunts and the Hive Guard.  Woops!
I guess I accidentally base-coated all my Termagants, the 3 remaining H-Gaunts and the Hive Guard. Woops!

I also got in a great game against a Space Marine Player, whom you will probably recognize from a previous battle report.  I brought my Tyranid Highlander list to test out against is own Highlander list… and well, I got tabled in 4 turns.  My MVP was the Genestealers, who wiped a unit of scouts (LOL) and ate a Whirlwind.  That’s not saying much.

I don’t run into Grav Centurions very much, but these guys have an unholy amount of shooting.  They managed to wipe the Swarmlord and his buddies in a single round of shooting, despite having Catalyst off.  Emphasized the need for a mobile cover save (Venomthrope or Malanthrope, I guess).  The Trygon prime suffered the same fate, and the Carnifex wasn’t far behind them.

Of course, it didn't help that the Marine Warlord drew a trait to infiltrate 3 units.  So I was staring down those grav centurions Turn 1.  I didn't have a remote possibility of destroying that Land Raider with my Carnifex positioned on the flank, so I was pretty much doomed from the start.
Of course, it didn’t help that the Marine Warlord drew a trait to infiltrate 3 units. So I was staring down those grav centurions Turn 1. I didn’t have a remote possibility of destroying that Land Raider with my Carnifex positioned on the flank, so I was pretty much doomed from the start.

To say I might have over-reacted in the aftermath of this game might be an understatement…

Why hello there Zoanthropes!  How are you doing today?  Ready to crack open some Land Raiders I hope?
Why hello there Zoanthropes! How are you doing today? Ready to crack open some Land Raiders I hope?

Since it was Victoria Day weekend here in Canada, I had an opportunity to paint and do yard work yesterday, so I got another one of those pesky Death Company models knocked off.  They have so much bling it’s hard to get any kind of production mojo going like I can get base-coating the ‘Nids.  I like fast, instant results more than painting jewellery… Anyways.

That’s it for now!  Anticipate more posts later this week.  🙂

5 Replies to “Not Much Doing”

    1. Lancing the Landraider, and offering more synapse coverage. More Warp-charge for manifesting powers, and an extra power to choose from. The extra power is kind of huge because the Tyranid powers are all pretty effective as a force multiplier.

      The Neurothrope has a good chance of doing some pretty serious damage to the Centurions as well with its life-leach psychic power… so this just gives me some more ranged options.

      Should be noted I don’t imagine my fortunes will immediately turn around with the addition of these Thropes, I’m still building these guys up and learning how to play ’em 😀

  1. “Emphasized the need for a mobile cover save (Venomthrope or Malanthrope, I guess). ”

    If he takes a librarian, the cents have a chance to ignore cover. I wouldn’t rely on a malethrope protecting you from them. (though still a good idea).

    Cent’s are pretty expensive in terms of investment, so concentrating on that unit and defeating it will severely hurt their army. A few ways for nids to counter cents is to look at units which have poor armor saves. Cent’s work off armor saves, so look for formations which let things work together to grant that armor save to a stronger unit.
    (Flyrant/gargoyles for example).

    1. He did have a librarian, and a 10-strong unit of Sternguard with their fancy ammunitions to make a mockery of any kind of numbers I had available. The hurricane bolters on the cents are problematic as well…

      But yeah, Ideally I’d drown them in Gants but unfortunately I’m not at that level just yet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

