BRRRRT ‘Rox and Some Terminators

Hey all,

It continues to be very busy for me, but I was able to sit down with my Dark Angel bro and get some painting done over the weekend.  He was working on some test models for his upcoming Militarum Tempestus force (of the Kasrkin variety).  

Unfortunately I neglected to take pictures of his Kasrkin but Oakenwife dropped by briefly to refill her wine glass and snapped this candid shot of productivity in progress….

Note the excellent posture as I hunch over one of my Terminators.... and the wiener dog salt and pepper shakers...
Note the excellent posture as I hunch over one of my Terminators…. and the wiener dog salt and pepper shakers…

….Which will certainly be put into the folder entitled “Blackmail Material”.

So here's the BRRRT 'Rox as a child, next to its momma Basilisk whom I may name Bertha.
So here’s the BRRRT ‘Rox as a child, next to its momma Basilisk whom I may name Bertha. This is way back in… March? god it’s been 3+ months since I last worked on this?!
The BRRRT 'Rox post-wash on the main hull.  It was after this I decided that it needed to receive some dark grey on the fenders in order to break up the camo pattern a bit and regain some of its shape and definition.
The BRRRT ‘Rox post-wash on the main hull. It was after this I decided that it needed to receive some dark grey on the fenders in order to break up the camo pattern a bit and regain some of its shape and definition.
Post Dry-brushing, I'm starting to pick out a lot of the details now, like the metallics and the brass-work.  I tried not to emphasize all the heraldry in the regular Rox but wanted to make this one fit the foot-orphans a bit better.  So lotsa brass.
Post Dry-brushing, I’m starting to pick out a lot of the details now, like the metallics and the brass-work. I tried not to emphasize all the heraldry in the regular Rox but wanted to make this one fit the foot-orphans a bit better. So lotsa brass.
And here we are!  I might give the brass a quick Nuln Oiling if it stays too sharp but I'm liking it quite a lot.  The red panels are for squad identification, but I haven't gotten that far along yet so it'll stay blank until I decide what to do there.
And here we are! I might give the brass a quick Nuln Oiling if it stays too sharp but I’m liking it quite a lot. The red panels are for squad identification, but I haven’t gotten that far along yet so it’ll stay blank until I decide what to do there.
And here's the other side in case you were curious.  More of the same.
And here’s the other side in case you were curious. More of the same.

In the past couple of pictures you’ll notice a couple of red beasties dropping in to photobomb the Scions.  Here’s their progress shot.  I’ve got 2 left to go, and then Cap’n Karl.

Obviously still have some basing to do, but the dudes are completed :D
Obviously still have some basing to do, but the dudes are completed 😀

Oh…. And some other news.

I connected with The Warlock of aussieland, and embiggened my Astra Millepede while he downsizening’d his own stocks.  I’m honoured to take these models off of his hands, and they’ll be put to good use.  I’m working on something to give them all special badges and such, because it doesn’t seem right that my Guard forces are better travelled than I am.  *sigh*

Problem is, I gotta wait for them to arrive.  They’re presently somewhere over the pacific.

Artists' conception of my worst nightmare
Artists’ conception of my worst nightmare

I’ve got a while to wait before they arrive, but I’m really looking forward to it.

Cheers all.

8 Replies to “BRRRRT ‘Rox and Some Terminators”

  1. They’ll be sailing through the warp until they come, oh they’ll be sailing through the warp until they come. They’ll be sailing through the warp now, sailing through the warp now, sailing through the warp until they come. /singing

    Heh ha, they should be there sometime this week- the registered air mail said 3-10 days. The remaining cadians who missed their flight are on their way too. I know there were 24 metal stormies, 5 tempestening scones and 10 cadians mid conversion to stormtrooper ^^;

    Loving that taurox paint scheme, it makes the thing look much more respectable than the grey blue or garbage-truck-green.

    1. I kind of picked out the colour scheme when I was doing my vendetta about a year and a half ago. It’s always nice when you see decisions made at that time panning out on a greater scale.

      So — are there 3 packages? 2 by plane and one by boat? I’ve been desperately trying to not buy anything in the past while (I’ve had a BA tac staring me right in the face at the shop) so this might give me the will power to hold off until the reinforcements arrive 🙂

      1. Nah, 2 air packages. One box, but since you got the other cadians, they ‘missed their flight’ so to speak 😛

        Expect one large box, filled with the Hammers of the emperor. Then a small satchel loaded with cadians.

  2. That basilisk is just so freaking awesome. Love the way you’ve painted the tanks. Really fitting and it’s just so nice.

      1. Gotta ask fer nefarious reasons, but how on earth do you get your edge highlighting so consistent? The vehicles look amazing O_O

        1. To be honest, I just dry brush them, being very careful at the upper most highlight that there isn’t much paint left on the brush. Nothing faster in the world and its been giving me great results for good table top quality so I haven’t bothered with anything else. Only vehicle I used edge highlighting on is Cassor the Damned.

Leave a Reply

