Things I’m Getting Really Stoked Over

Alright, summer’s winding down, and the days are getting a bit cooler (at least around the GTA anyways — and who knows how long that will last) but y’know what?  I’m pretty stoked.  I’m sitting here, in my chair, and I’m stoked out of my bloody mind.

Some might say dangerously stoked.

Anyways.  Here’s a non-exhaustive list of items that are gettin’ me stoked as hell:

The Toronto Blue Jays – The boys of summer have been absolutely killing it since their trade for Troy Tulowitzki and David Price.  They have absolutely run over the Yankees en route to their now 1.5 game lead in the AL East, and Fangraphs is giving them a 12.2% chance of taking it all, behind the LA Dodgers and Houston Astros.

For those that don’t know what I’m talking about, this is baseball, and it’s baseball at its finest.

We haven’t been to the playoffs in 20+ years, so it’s high time.  Bring it on!

Star Wars Armada Wave 2 – FFG is going to take away a lot of my money once is comes out.  I was dealt a hammer-blow earlier this week when they announced that the second wave, which includes the Imperial Class Star Destroyer and Home One, an MC80 Mon Calamari Star Cruiser (of “IT’S A TRAP” fame).  I anticipate Wave 2 brings the game from ‘absolutely incredible’ to ‘shit just got real’ territory.  If you thought that Victory Class Star Destroyers looked big on the table-top, you should take a look at these puppies per the photos people have graciously posted from Gencon, where there was a preview display up.

pics from Graphicpolicy.com  Look how big that badass is!
pics from Graphicpolicy.com Look how big that badass is!
Close-up of Home One, again from Graphicpolicy.com
Close-up of Home One, again from Graphicpolicy.com

My excitement goes a step further, because FFG has sent out the following to everyone:

sullust-alt-art-card
This was posted directly to FFG’s website as part of their Massing at Sullust campaign. HUBBA HUBBA

DAMN.  4 red and 4 blue on the frontal arc?  Goodnight, anyone at mid-range that’s stupid enough to get on the frontal arc of this thing.  It’s also faster than the Victory, can control more squadrons, and more maneuverable at speed 2 and 3.  I doubt anyone will have any reasons NOT to take this thing (except its relatively high price tag at 120 points).  It’s shield layout and number of hullpoints indicate it can probably take a beating too, just as well because the base is probably massive as well.  Throwing 2 blue dice at enemy squadrons doesn’t hurt either.

Anyways.  I’m really looking forwards to the big boys arriving.

My Blood Angels – Seriously.  They’re really coming along well.  I kind of hesitated to get back into marines because I thought that my paint skills probably wouldn’t do them justice.  Welp.  I’ve gone and proven myself wrong, as I’ve done up some ENTIRELY PASSABLE quality models.

But hey!  I did finish something!  Those terminators I started working on ages ago?  THEY'RE DONE! (less the decals.  I have micro-set and micro-sol arriving via amazon sometime in September, apparently.)

This Razorback has been a work in progress for a while.  As you can see I really need to attack the black sections with a little more gusto.  I'm trying to break up the vast sea of red without making too obvious that's what I'm trying to do.

2015-08-27 22.26.29

That last one’s a WIP still, but where the hell did that come from?  AHHH!!! SO STOKED!!!!!!!!

My Chaos-bro has a BlogSeriously, you should go check it out.  It’s for more regular stuff than our monthly campaign battle.  Right now he’s converting up an army of Chaosy Renegades (of Funk) who are looking to mess up my Cadians day.  Worth perusing, that’s for sure.

I might be the Dachshund in this friendship...  heh.
I might be the Dachshund in this friendship… heh.

I can’t be the only one who’s stoked about stuffs.  HIT ME UP.  What’re you stoked about?!?!?!

11 thoughts on “Things I’m Getting Really Stoked Over”

  1. I’m stoked ive actualy done some hobbying this last couple of weeks finished off all the Infinity Ice Storm models today and ordered a bunch more this morning like the second my wages cleared into the bank.

    If I can figure away to take a decent pictures ill post up some pics thee not great but I haven’t painted anything in 4 or 5 years so I’m feeling a bit of a newb really pleased with the progress in 2 weeks some things are coming back

      1. A fair bit recently been playing with steppie and late night games with a few guys at the park I work on such a fun game and gets better the more new rules you start adding

  2. Hey, thanks for the shout out! That’s pretty awesome of you dude. I’ll be sure to return the favor when it counts. BTW, you forgot the fourth thing that you’re getting super stoked over: Kings of war 😉

    1. AMEN!

      There’s a lot to like about this game. A lot of my Armada-bros are starting to get a good grasp of the rules now so I’ll probably post a few battle reports in the next few weeks or so.

      Disappointed I have to wait until Q4 for Wave 2 now, but I guess that’s officially starting sometime in October, right? BRING IT! In the mean time I have to resist the urge to go out and buy 1 more of everything from Wave 1. GAH.

Leave a Reply

