Something Stompier this Way Comes

Sooo, as my life continues to settle down a bit (I’ve only worked after hours 3 days this week!  Woohoo!), I’m able to spend a bit more time on the hobby, just in time for my birthday.

Seems my wife kind of saw me ‘getting the itch’.  I hadn’t been modelling or painting or stuffs in quite a while, and I was lamenting over having so many reinvigorated aspirations with respect to my army as a whole, as well as a new painting challenge.  So her birthday present came early: a “Guilt Free Purchase”, which is really the most any husband could ask for.  It’s like a blank cheque!

After briefly perusing the Lamborghini catalogue, and opting not to purchase a new computer (I might have better avenues this winter), I walked into my FLGS with a grin on my face and a head full of eyeballs.

I walked out with this guy:

99120108005_IMPERIALKNIGHTWARDEN360

I kind of told myself that I would never touch one of these things on the merits that I really didn’t want to be ‘that guy’ but in the realm of 7th Edition Eldar, Necron Decurions, and rumours pertaining to uber-Tau-Cheese I don’t really have a reason to hold off any more.  That, and it looked like a stellar kit, and a hoot to build and paint.

I dove in pretty much straightaway.

It all starts with a leg.  It was around this point that I realized just how big this bastard's gonna be (even though I've seen them on the table quite a bit)
It all starts with a leg. It was around this point that I realized just how big this bastard’s gonna be (even though I’ve seen them on the table quite a bit)
Some magnetization ingenuity.  I slapped a bottlecap into the torso assembly to help keep the legs together with the upper body.  I just know someone's going to come by and try to pick him up from the upper torso, and I can imagine the legs falling away.  Having said this, I'm not thoroughly pleased with respect to the bonding strength, so I might revisit this sometime in the future...
Some magnetization ingenuity. I slapped a bottlecap into the torso assembly to help keep the legs together with the upper body. I just know someone’s going to come by and try to pick him up from the upper torso, and I can imagine the legs falling away. Having said this, I’m not thoroughly pleased with respect to the bonding strength, so I might revisit this sometime in the future…
Bottlecap installed and the torso built around it.  I'm going to leave the lid off through the painting assembly and whatnot, and I should be able to modify this detail after I get it on the tabletop if I so choose.
Bottlecap installed and the torso built around it. I’m going to leave the lid off through the painting assembly and whatnot, and I should be able to modify this detail after I get it on the tabletop if I so choose.
Magnetizing the arm connections.  You'll notice a gap in between the arm slots.  These are only really present for the ranged arm connections, because of the thickness of my magnets as compared to the depth I have to play with.  I don't mind this so much, because the guns look a bit more under-slung now, and thus more badass.
Magnetizing the arm connections. You’ll notice a gap in between the arm slots. These are only really present for the ranged arm connections, because of the thickness of my magnets as compared to the depth I have to play with. I don’t mind this so much, because the guns look a bit more under-slung now, and thus more badass.
It was around this time that I started to notice that my bottlecap assembly allows free range of movement, and the imbalanced weight of the model is sufficient to tip it over onto one side of the joint.  Heh.  So if one arm is heavier than the other the model will reflect that.  Neat. (note: possibly not neat)
It was around this time that I started to notice that my bottlecap assembly allows free range of movement, and the imbalanced weight of the model is sufficient to tip it over onto one side of the joint. Heh. So if one arm is heavier than the other the model will reflect that. Neat. (note: possibly not neat). You’ll also probably notice his AA Hat. It’s a lovely hat, and magnetized appropriately. I’m still working on the missile launchers.
Avenger cannon and Reaper Chainsword assembly complete.
Avenger cannon and Reaper Chainsword assembly complete.

Presently I’m working on the Rapid Fire Battlecannon and Uber-Melta, trying to figure out how to do the barrelswap.  The easiest thing I could have done is put a piece of plasticard or sprue in the circular socket connection.  But being all gung-ho and stupid I closed that up.  It’ll take some expert level tweezing in order to install that piece now.

DERRRRP
DERRRRP

Anyways.  That’s where I’m at just now.  I’m debating my colouring options and am going back and forth between Hawkshroud and Terryn.  Reason being, I don’t want to double up on the greens of my Cadians, or Reds on the Blood Angels.

11 thoughts on “Something Stompier this Way Comes”

  1. Get your stomp on 🙂

    Beautiful looking kit. I’m scheming on that battle for Calth Horus Heresy game it might be a fun game but it will be a great starting point for that world eaters 30karmy I’ve had a bit of an itch for. I might spend hours perusing the Forgeworld site don’t judge me.

    However I am a bit concerned that it might be a limited edition if it is it will probably sell out before I get round to ordering it bit of a funny time for me as im about to start a new job if it’s not limited ill probably get 2 🙂

    1. “Limited Edition” always seems to be a misnomer for me. My FLGS still has one of them fancy void shield generators that is supposedly out of stock, as well as around 8 copies of Space Hulk.

      But yeah, the 30k game should be loads of fun. I’m probably not going to get on board (because I’ve got so much stuff to do) but it’s definitely on my radar.

      I’ve got a buddy getting on my case to start a Mordheim warband too. Not enough time at the end of the day!!! So much gaming to do. 🙂

      1. Started to get sucked into Magic the gathering aswell I’m totally blaming steppie for that hoping to have more spare time soon my new job is 5 days a week not 6 with no on call time

    2. According to sites it’s not limited and hopefully the AUD price hits soon. I’m flogging off my 40k besides my BA so want to divert funding towards this if the price is right.

    1. I might have to augment the bottle cap with some blue-tac, to make it a little more stable. It’s a firm joint, I can lift the torso and the legs will follow, but it pivots a bit too easily.

    1. Thanks Warlock! He was kind of a joy to put together and magnetize. I’m going with the yellow of House Hawkshroud, and I’m a bit terrified to get started. I’ve never done something so BRIGHT. (House Terryn is one with the Ultramarines colours)

      Coincidentally, I read last night that Hawkshrouds planet is very close to Baal, so this likely fits canonically as well. I don’t know if there’s a house that works closely with cadians but that might be kind of cool to investigate.

      I didn’t think I’d love the kit this much. I’m contemplating buying the codex simply to read about the fluff. Crazy, eh?

Leave a Reply

