He’s So Heavy

[/end Beatles Reference]

So a bit of an update post here, as I’ve polished off the assembly portion of Sir Stompington (unofficial working name).

So this is kind of where we left things from the last post, except you'll notice I've completed all of those finnicky handrails across the top armour of this guy.  The gun is magnetized, but I'm going to have to glue the joint so it doesn't appear as though he's suffering from ED on the heavy stubber or meltagun.
So this is kind of where we left things from the last post, except you’ll notice I’ve completed all of those finnicky handrails across the top armour of this guy. The gun is magnetized, but I’m going to have to glue the joint so it doesn’t appear as though he’s suffering from ED on the heavy stubber or meltagun.
Summary of components that will be primed white, in order to prepare for HAWKSHROUD colours! (Yes, I decided!)
Summary of components that will be primed white, in order to prepare for HAWKSHROUD colours! (Yes, I decided!)
Skeleton primed black, Sir Stompington picks a fight with the Flow'ry Meadow in the games room.
Skeleton primed black, Sir Stompington picks a fight with the Flow’ry Meadow in the games room.
This is one instance I'm actually very thankful for Duncan over at GW.  He recommended using a large drybrush for application of the metal base coat over the skeleton.  I thought that was genius.  The large brush I usually use is more like a flat blade.  It almost trowels paint on, and when you're trying to slap it everywhere it's not really the best tool to use.  So I woke up this morning before work and basically got most of the metal components on the skeleton base-coated.
This is one instance I’m actually very thankful for Duncan over at GW. He recommended using a large drybrush for application of the metal base coat over the skeleton. I thought that was genius. The large brush I usually use is more like a flat blade. It almost trowels paint on, and when you’re trying to slap it everywhere it’s not really the best tool to use. So I woke up this morning before work and basically got most of the metal components on the skeleton base-coated.

I’ve been looking around the interwebs for inspiration with respect to hawkshrouding, and came across two examples that are really eye popping, both of which have been bookmarked.

The first is a rather detailed tutorial put together by Garfy at Tale of Painters.  The tutorial is totally badass, and kind of helps me plan out how I’m going to attack the process.  The problem is it uses techniques that are a bit scary for me, like making glazes out of lahmian medium and a paint colour, as opposed to my usual approach of “Wash it all and let God sort it out”.

The other one I’m looking at uses a bit more of a pale colour scheme, that I’m really quite fond of.  It looks as though it was painted by Jose Velez at The Paint Forge.  He uses an air-brush to get some of his shading done, so that technique is kind of off-the-table, but I can really see his other techniques shining through, and it’s quite excellent.  I get the feeling looking at these knights I might be able to get by with an agrax wash in some of the areas instead of the home made ‘skag brown’ glaze as done by Garfy, and frankly, I kind of like the look of these guys.

I was also taking a very close look at the shop-knight painted by Clarence (which Pask Nobly rended to death in one solid turn of shooting).  It also looks like he used an airbrush to achieve his gradients, but I can definitely do the cool stuff he did with his metals!  Consider me inspired!!!

Look at this guy.  Gutting a Devilfish like a regular fish.  Such a boss.

 

Anyways, that’s it for now.  I’ll keep you posted with any further progress.

5 Replies to “He’s So Heavy”

      1. I thought you meant the red, for yellow go purple or sepia depending on how cool or warm you want it. At any rate wet blending and glazes even work on large flat areas. Actually, 2 brush blending is a good tool for that as well.

Leave a Reply

