Gettin’ My Gamin’ Groove Back

All I can say is thank the Lord I’m getting back into my normal self.  I’m feeling well rested, I’m feeling energized, and paint is starting to get on miniatures once more.

Most notably, Sir Stompy the Largest (his name changes every day).

Slowly but surely he's getting there. Shading is in progress, and still have to add a few base layers to some persistent parts of the model (battle cannon, melta, and feet) but the armour plates are basically getting there.
Slowly but surely he’s getting there. Shading is in progress, and still have to add a few base layers to some persistent parts of the model (battle cannon, melta, and feet) but the armour plates are basically getting there.

EDIT: HOLY CRAP!  Haven’t even posted any WIPs of this guy since I basically primed him!  Here goes!

Here's his back.  I was having a lot of fun mixing in metals and stuff and frankly the result is a little bit stunning.  Random bitz are balthazar, and picked out some bronze :D
Here’s his back. I was having a lot of fun mixing in metals and stuff and frankly the result is a little bit stunning. Random bitz are balthazar, and picked out some bronze 😀
Testing some of the armour plates.
Testing some of the armour plates.

I even got a game in with Travis, sporting some fancy new Renegades.  I brought my Tyranids, and a general riot was had.  He brought a Fellblade and Malcador into a 1,500 point match, while I brought my favourite Tyranid list featuring the Swarmlord, Mr. Bitey (the Trygon), and for the first time ever, a Devo-gaunt loaded Tyrannocyte.

In short, both super-heavies went down to a combination of MIND BULLETS, before getting torn to shreds by a Carnifex and the Swarmlord respectively.  Meanwhile, Mr. Bitey was frolicking through the lines of the Renegades, who probably didn’t have the best tools to bring him down, catching every squad as they retreated in a sweeping advance.

Probably the highlight of the game for me was the Zoanthropes tanking 3 turns of shooting from the Fellblade before dealing 7 hullpoints of damage with a single volley from a Warp Blast.  Nothing quite like that game that breaks a dry spell.

That's not to diminish the contributions of this Broodlord, who very enthusiastically sampled the Fellblade's track prior to being supported by the Carnifex.
That’s not to diminish the contributions of this Broodlord, who very enthusiastically sampled the Fellblade’s track prior to being supported by the Carnifex.

Then on Sunday, I hung out at the LGS for a bit to take in the new Tau units.  I’m really impressed with the quality of miniatures GW is putting out with respect to the Ghostkeels.  They’re some really slick looking models, and provides the Tau some interesting tools to potentially stay mobile.  In discussing this unit with Shopkeep, he noted they’ve effectively replaced Missile-side teams in his army-list, as they’re more mobile, and likely more durable so long as they can stay clear of assault.

Also, they're GIGANTIC. I put the iKnight in there for scale.
Also, they’re GIGANTIC. I put the iKnight in there for scale.

This Tau force (including 2 riptides, 3 ghostkeels, and a stormsurge) went up against an MSU Drop-pod Marine force using a pair of demi-companies for free pods and rhinos and such (the marines were bringing 6 pods w/ 5 man tacs, plus 3 rhinos/razors, a centurion squad, 2 storm talons and a storm raven).  As I thought this match-up over in my head, I kind of thought that the Tau would need to be super efficient in order to counter this many units being up in their grill early, and wouldn’t really be able to afford any casualties to their MC’s or GC’s lest they risk being ground down through attrition.

From what I understand having received a post-game breakdown from one of the combatants, the Tau output wasn’t quite as high as anticipated.  Drowning in drop pods, they were able to inflict some significant casualties, but the dagger blow was when the Marine player was actually able to complete a “Domination” objective, because the Tau forces weren’t objective secured.

I wish I could have been there for the whole thing, but it was Sunday evening and I really wanted to sleep.

Looking forward to more gaming on the immediate horizon.  🙂

2 Replies to “Gettin’ My Gamin’ Groove Back”

  1. The knight is looking really good, I always appreciate a painter that can do a good yellow, I’ve always struggled myself.

    And the feeling of gaming after a dry spell is so good – win or lose but the win is always so sweet.

    Keep up the good work!

    1. Thanks Bender! It’s definitely a unique challenge painting the yellows – it doesn’t leave a lot of room for error based on the paint coverage. Talking with a friend, he’d prefer to just scrape the paint off in some cases rather than correcting his mistakes with another coat (because inevitably, another coat would mean another THREE coats).

      Chaos-bro is always fun to play against, full stop. I’m more surprised my ‘Nids came up with an answer for those super-heavies. I underestimated MIND BULLETS apparently.

Leave a Reply

