Sir Winston & Ryza Skitarii

Alright, this is a general life problem of mine.

I love to start projects, but once there’s a bump in the road I tend to be very quick to abandon the job.  I also tend to get distracted very easily.  Eventually, this leads to some procrastination, and nothing really gets finished until there’s a gun up to my head or there is something tangibly at-stake (IE – ‘lose your job’ kind of stakes).

This also seems to be true with my recent hobby projects that I’ve had on the go since “Hobby-Funk 2015”.  For example, Sir Winston (he has an official name now!) is presently stalled in favour of momentum on the Skitarii that I’ve latched on to like some form of lamprey eel.

Here’s the thing that’s killing me:  He’s SO CLOSE to being done.  All I really need to do is work on his weaponry and some of the armour plates, and I can focus on putting some decals on him.  Base it, and he’s complete!

Sir Winston, where I left him.
Sir Winston, where I left him.
It was probably just over a week ago I really attacked his carapace with those highlights.
It was probably just over a week ago I really attacked his carapace with those highlights.

Naturally, at this stage, I’m not able to put the dagger through this particular project, I have to go and start something else.  Don’t get me wrong, he’s looking pretty sick the way he is now.  But I wouldn’t be the happiest if I threw him on the table like this, knowing full well I still had some work to do.

Enter the Skitarii.  I love their fluff, and their approach to battle.  It’s less about the casualties.  It’s less about the conquest.  It’s more about the gathering of information.  They are fighting to LEARN.  Awesome stuff.  A full army of mecha-masochists.  PERFECT.

**Beep** I am here to forcibly integrate your gluteal function splines and mechanically ablate highly elastic sucralose laced materials with mandible-like implements.  And I lack said aforementioned implements **Boop**
**Beep** I am here to forcibly integrate your gluteal function splines and mechanically ablate highly elastic sucralose laced materials with mandible-like implements. And I lack said aforementioned implements **Boop**

Thus began the crusade:

Uh-oh.  MORE stompies?
Uh-oh. MORE stompies?
...Magnetized... Stompies?
…Magnetized… Stompies?
Mix in some tin-troopies as well.  Two 5-man squads, one to drop out of a Vendetta the other to snipe (was still in assembly at time of photo).
Mix in some tin-troopies as well. Two 5-man squads, one to drop out of a Vendetta the other to snipe (was still in assembly at time of photo).
Colour test - think it works!
Colour test – think it works!
*continues base-coating...*
*continues base-coating…* *takes a drink*
and this is where we're at presently...
and this is where we’re at presently…

I guess my hope is to get all the Skitarii stuff presently assembled all wrapped up before going back and finishing Sir Winston.  Part of me really wished I was disciplined and stuck it out with Winnie before going nuts with the Tin men though.

Such is the nature of hobby impulses though, I guess.  The fact I’ve got so much paint down in the past week or so shows that I’ve got SOME motivation to continue.

Oh.  One thing I *did* finish was my Astra Militarum Tech Priest.

He's looking pretty rad. *snort*  Hopefully those lead-lined cloaks are helping him out some.
He’s looking pretty rad. *snort* Hopefully those lead-lined cloaks are helping him out some.

Anyways, I’ll post more pics at a later date, hopefully with some more COMPLETE shots.  Cheers all.

11 Replies to “Sir Winston & Ryza Skitarii”

  1. Glad to see I’m not the only one afflicted by an inability to see a project through! I’ve found that turning to blogging has really helped me finish off squads though – I need deadlines and commitments or otherwise its just self-indulgent creativity!
    It’s still no defense against compulsive buying of shiny new minis though!

    1. The struggle is very real! Maybe it’ll help some if I post more frequently. Part of the issue with respect to my posting is that it’s not regular at all, and my hobby ADD sends me everywhere all at once.

      A more constructive creative process might be “I need to finish this mini so I can post about it on my blog in something that resembles a cohesive discussion!”

      Just had a quick rip through your blog and looks like you’re having some fun with Yellow Tau and the Ryza colour scheme — like my Yellow knight and Ryza skitarii… Definitely worth the bookmark! Cheers!

      1. Haha thanks for the follow back! Yeah I try and post something new every weekend so I’m forced to fit in more painting during the week! I’ll watch your Ryza Skitarii with interest. The orange scheme is great and I intend to do a vanguard of them after my Tau project (and no doubt a bunch of Age of Sigmar stuff that takes my fancy too!). Cheers 🙂

    1. SIR YES SIR. I think I might actually wrap up the Dragoon first. He’s almost ALMOST there (moreso than the knight)

      and thanks for the compliment 🙂 How are things across the pond?

  2. You’ll find we all do it. Usually my big motivations are tournaments. I play, when life doesn’t suck, every month at a local tournament. There’s no painting requirement there but I prefer to play at it with painted stuff. However, without some sort of structure I’ll bounce around a bit just to keep things interesting and prevent burn out.

    That Priest looks great and finish that damn Knight. He looks awesome so get it done and show it off 😉

    1. Will do! I’ve got an apocalypse game presently scheduled for late December during the winter holidays, and potentially another Highlander Tournament in early December — these are the things I’m really working towards presently 🙂

      I’ve also had 2 DRAFTS over at the HoP for seemingly months. I’m never fully satisfied with the post. Eventually I’m just going to have to suck it up and push one through to break the slump there…

  3. Someones got stomp fever 🙂 which is totally a real disease recognised by the World Health Organisation and everything (excuse me while I invent my own references)

    I think the urge to flit from project to project is quite a common one amongst us of a certain persuasion I often stop and it will be 6 months or so before I go back to it

Leave a Reply

