Imperial Armies: Hobby Status Report

You guys would probably know at this point I re-picked up this hobby in January 2013, meaning I’m coming up on about 3 years in the Imperial Guard.  It took me until October of 2013 to gather 1,000 points, and about a year after that my force had expanded to about 3,500.  Sitting here in November 2015, I can now advise my total Imperial force is approaching 7,000 points.

It’s incredible to think about.

So here's everyone!
So here’s everyone!

It should be noted as well, a lot of these miniatures came from Australia over the summer, and I’m guilty of not having given them as much attention as they deserve.

So, lets go over how I’m coming along in my painting progress:

Here's the beginnings of my "Emperor's Blade Veteran Company".  I'll need adjust the squad markings on the shoulder (because I really derped it up).  In order to fill out the formation I'll need to build 10 more Vets (I have them in the box).  Not pictured is my regular guard-Taurox, which evaded this picture somehow.  I think he's hiding beneath the gaming table somewhere.  One of the hellhounds came from Aussieland, and will need painting. ==STATUS: ALMOST THERE==
Here’s the beginnings of my “Emperor’s Blade Veteran Company”. I’ll need adjust the squad markings on the shoulder (because I really derped it up). In order to fill out the formation I’ll need to build 10 more Vets (I have them in the box). Not pictured is my regular guard-Taurox, which evaded this picture somehow. I think he’s hiding beneath the gaming table somewhere. One of the hellhounds came from Aussieland, and will need painting.
==STATUS: ALMOST THERE 29/30. 10 UNBUILT IN-BOX==
This is the start of the Artillery formation.  I wouldn't mind adding another Basilisk and Wyvern.  Will need a Chimera and Command squad to bark out orders. Could potentially use the Veteran's Command squad provided they're not being used in that particular battle. ==STATUS: PAINTED, FIELDABLE==
This is the start of the Artillery formation. I wouldn’t mind adding another Basilisk and Wyvern. Will need a Chimera and Command squad to bark out orders. Could potentially use the Veteran’s Command squad provided they’re not being used in that particular battle.
==STATUS: PAINTED, FIELDABLE 3/3==
This is the beginnings of the Armoured Fist Company.  Missing is the 5th Russ which I understand is required to fill out the formation.  I may drop Pask from this formation, simply because the Cadian Battlegroup detachment works better for infantry.  The Iron Fist formation appears to work well by itself, with the Commander providing ample leadership buffs (and added ballistic skill!) without Pask's menacing presence. ==STATUS: NEEDS WORK==
This is the beginnings of the Armoured Fist Company. Missing is the 5th Russ which I understand is required to fill out the formation. I may drop Pask from this formation, simply because the Cadian Battlegroup detachment works better for infantry. The Iron Fist formation appears to work well by itself, with the Commander providing ample leadership buffs (and added ballistic skill!) without Pask’s menacing presence.
==STATUS: NEEDS WORK 2/4 COMPLETED==
A good portion of the Tempestening Scones came from Australia, and I quite enjoy the Inquisitorial Stormtrooper look.  Again, these guys haven't gotten the attention they deserve, and I should really work to get these guys going.  Similarly for their fly ride. ==STATUS: 6/28 Completed==
A good portion of the Tempestening Scones came from Australia, and I quite enjoy the Inquisitorial Stormtrooper look. Again, these guys haven’t gotten the attention they deserve, and I should really work to get these guys going. Similarly for their fly ride.
==STATUS: 6/35 Completed==
The Adeptus Astartes Sanguinius started in November/December of 2014, and unfortunately remain WIP.  The only models I've actually finished of the bunch are the Terminators and the Sanguinary priest.  Early gains in the Death Company and Tactical Squads were met with resistance because there's just so much detail on the model.  I got hung up painting all their bling, and lost momentum.  Deredeo and Razorback could still use some work, and while Cassor the Damned is looking pretty fine, closer inspection reveals I could afford to pick out more details on him as well. ==STATUS: 6/32 COMPLETED==
The Adeptus Astartes Sanguinius started in November/December of 2014, and unfortunately remain WIP. The only models I’ve actually finished of the bunch are the Terminators and the Sanguinary priest. Early gains in the Death Company and Tactical Squads were met with resistance because there’s just so much detail on the model. I got hung up painting all their bling, and lost momentum. Deredeo and Razorback could still use some work, and while Cassor the Damned is looking pretty fine, closer inspection reveals I could afford to pick out more details on him as well.
==STATUS: 8/29 COMPLETED==
The new kids on the block, the Skitarii are coming along.  The Sydonian dragoon is almost finished while the gun-crab and Rangers / Vanguard obviously need further work. ==STATUS 0/12 COMPLETED==
The new kids on the block, the Skitarii are coming along. The Sydonian dragoon is almost finished while the gun-crab and Rangers / Vanguard obviously need further work.
==STATUS 0/12 COMPLETED==
So here's everyone!
Zooming back out, you’ll notice the ranks of infantry are largely unpainted.  2 Squads in what will be some Emperor’s Shield Platoons have been painted, the rest came from Australia and desperately need some loving.  Bullgryns and Sentinels are completed (with the exception of 1 senti), heavy weapons are half done, while the special weapons are mostly not done.  Command Squad is also incomplete.  ==STATUS: 32/82 COMPLETED==

So when it’s all said and done, I’ve completed 80 miniatures, out of a total force of about 196, or a completion rate of about 40%.

Simply put: That’s just not good enough.

I’m not sure if it’s too ambitious a goal to paint up 10 mans per week until the New Year, but something’s got to get done here.  A lot of them are *SO CLOSE* to being done as well, as I’ve mentioned before, I just have to stick the dagger in them.  Perhaps these are the candidates to be the first to go.

Anyways.  Stay tuned in for hopefully a near-obscene amount of hobby progress in the next 4-6 weeks.

7 thoughts on “Imperial Armies: Hobby Status Report”

  1. Nice looking force there buddy. It’s always inspiring to see someone else’s army and definitely is a Motivation to get painting.

    So far I’m up to 2000pts give or take, including the knight and I have 4 Russes, a Valkyrie, Chimera and the knight to paint.

    1. Thanks Mr. Bender! Setting everything up in one place really rankled me because I like everything I throw onto the table to be at the very minimum base-coated. Time to kick it into gear!

      That 2,000 point force you’ve outlined seems very much the way I got my start, except I didn’t have 4x russes at my disposal.

      1. I actually have 5 so far! 1 punisher, 2 Eradicators and 2 LRBTs. I’m a little lacking in boots on the ground though, CCS, PCS, 30 guardsmen and 10 vets!

            1. HAH! DODGE THIS YOU JINKY BASTARDS. I love the idea of a Deathstrike just to put the fear of death in people. Maybe I’ll proxy the manticore for a game just to try it out 😀

Leave a Reply

