Completed: Cadian Leman Russ Exterminator

Those on Twitter will have seen this previously, but wanted to tie a little ribbon on him and get this project completely finished.  This Exterminator represents the first model of the Australian Regiment to be completed since their arrival 6 months ago.

Acquired: July 4, 2015
Completed: January 2, 2016
Time Elapsed: 182 days (or 5 Months, 29 Days)

2016-01-11 06.52.31

I’m a little bit shocked it’s taken me this long to paint this guy up, because normally I love painting tanks.  It’s one of the fastest things I can do, and it’s pure production.  The issue is I didn’t really have any impetus to get him all wrapped up because there wasn’t really any room in my lists for him (given Pask’s BRRRT madness) but the Mont’ka Detachments and Formations have me addressing their number…

The featured Exterminator represents the third Leman Russ I’ve painted, and hasn’t been blessed with a hull number as yet.  It’ll be put on following it’s first tour of duty.

The Exterminator feels most at home busting light armour, where it separates itself from the Vanquisher through volume of fire and accuracy.  In a pinch, you could use it as an anti-flier vehicle, although most of my army lists features something that’s a bit better at the job.

At 130 points base (140 with the Lascannon) it puts out a decent amount of fire on an extremely rugged chassis.  Both weapons benefit greatly from the increased ballistic skill from a nearby Tank Commander when fielded in the Emperor’s Fist Tank Company Formation.

2016-01-11 06.52.56

Nothing fancy with the paintwork, just my usual, table-top style approach.  One day I might come back and try to add some weathering, but I have other fish to fry for now.

6 Replies to “Completed: Cadian Leman Russ Exterminator”

  1. That’s a good looking tank and congrats on yet another model down for 2016.

    I loathe painting tanks. Getting the base-coat down is easy, it’s all the damn shading and highlighting that drives me nuts.

    1. Thanks Thor! (and this represents the first time you’ve commented in a while and haven’t been marked spam! Success!)

      I’ve got one more Completion post marked for this week, and then we’re into projects that I’ve actually set goals for per my post on Friday.

      Accountability is a wonderful thing…

  2. very nice! Just add a little weathering and battle damage after each game and you’ll be done in no time and have a tank that gets more beaten up the longer it’s been on campaign! Don’t for get to add kill markings too 😉

    1. Thanks Zab! I think I’m going to need to pop my weathering cherry soon. It’d really take things to the next level. I feel like once I do, I’ll crush all of my tanks simultaneously.

Leave a Reply

