Friday Frag Bag – Monday Edition

Just when I thought things couldn’t get worse, I miss a Friday Frag Bag post.  Thus, enjoy the Monday edition of the Friday Frag Bag! (Does that…. Does that even make sense? SHUT UP BRAIN!  Of course it does!)

Weekly Accomplishments:

Welp.  I think I can sum up the grand total of my accomplishments this past week with the following picture:

...Is it safe to come out yet?
…Is it safe to come out yet?

Sometimes, when life gets rough and/or busy, I revert to my more basic animal instincts, shack up, and play World of Warships for hours at a time.  In this case, I was feeling a bit depressed about some life/medical conditions (Edit: I’m not dying, don’t worry) that I shan’t elaborate on in this juncture but the Mrs. and I are doing just fine (with the notable exception of feeling slightly depressed as noted above).

So, if I were to report on progress in WoWS, I’ve got a lot to talk about!

Most notably, I graduated from this guy:

IJN Hosho - a nothing fancy boat that planes can take off of (and hopefully land once they're done flying around and stuff)
IJN Hosho – a flat boat that planes can take off of (and hopefully land once they’re done flying around and stuff)

to this guy:

IJN Ryujo - a significantly larger flat boat that more planes can take off from (and hopefully land again if they're not shot down in transit).
IJN Ryujo – a significantly larger flat boat that more planes can take off from (and hopefully land again if they’re not shot down in transit).

I’m really loving carrier gameplay these days for some reason, and I like to think I’m getting pretty good at it.

ANYHOO.  I did make some progress on actual models and I suppose I can show off a few pictures from that…

I painted a cheeky little stripe on him hah!  But I didn't stop there, nossir.
I painted a cheeky little stripe on him hah! But I didn’t stop there, nossir.
I really started attacking the gun-crab in earnest, slapping the base coat and shades down on the gun accessories, and starting to hit some of the details on the main chassis, while trying my hand at a scenic base construction.  I was hoping for some twisted metal, and fortunately had a Taurox cow-catcher spare and handy, as well as a superfluous Chimera back-hatch.
I really started attacking the gun-crab in earnest, slapping the base coat and shades down on the gun accessories, and starting to hit some of the details on the main chassis, while trying my hand at a scenic base construction. I was hoping for some twisted metal, and fortunately had a Taurox cow-catcher spare and handy, as well as a superfluous Chimera back-hatch.

Right now, this is kind of where we stand with the Onager.  I put the water transfer on the front, and am working on the gunner with a bit more intention.

2016-01-29 09.47.07

Wow.  Now that I’ve written all that out, it does look like I got quite a lot done in the past 1+ weeks, which is to say nothing of all the time I spent sick, boats, playing D&D, watching movies and other stuff.

Huh.  Perpsective gained.  Thanks, blogging discipline!

GOOOLLLLL Recap:

Soccerfail2

Though, looking at my synopsis of the week, this isn’t for lack of trying.

  1. REPLACE LAMP (*sobs*)
  2. Finish Skitarii Onager
  3. Continue 5x Skitarii Rangers (stretch goal)

I made progress in the case of the Onager, but wasn’t able to start finishing the Rangers.  I drove past Ikea several times, but didn’t have an opportunity to pick up LAMP.

Strategic Genius:

Y’know I didn’t mention above in my general accomplishments that I’ve actually played 2 games of 40k since the past post.  I won both.

Skitarii / iKnight vs. Daemons & CSM (@1,750)

Granted, this is a very poor match-up for Daemons, because my skits are mostly based around wound saturation than GRAVLULz, I’m a bit proud I was able to fend off a very talented opponent and good strategist.  You’ve seen him before on this blog also.

A general list of pertinent things I learned:

  1. The Icarus array is absolutely Terrifying against Flying Monstrous Creatures, particularly those that rely on cover for their durability.  The gun-crab shot down both Be’Lakor and Kairos Fateweaver by Turn 4.
  2. The Dominus Maniple formation is brutally effective.  Twin-linking 30 Rad-carbine rounds against any target can be effective, and round out the effect of snap-firing at less than ideal targets (zooming FMC’s, and invisible units, mostly).
  3. Sir Winston doesn’t just look cool.  He can mash with the best of them.  He doubled-out a lot of plague drones, and then got to work on a Screamerstar.  I didn’t even load him out for CC, he was more loaded out for shooting, but he can do it all.

Following the game, it was pointed out to me that I’m precisely 3 purchases shy from completing the War Convocation.  All I need is a pair of Kataphron units and some Rust-Stalkers.  I have tasted of the cheese, and the cheese was good.

Pictured: Oak following cheese-revelation
Pictured: Oak following cheese-revelation

Seriously though, this is the first army I’ve fielded that can actually be deemed “SUPER CHEESE” by any current Meta.  It wasn’t even intentional!  I bought in because I liked the look of the models, and have only realized recently that this army is SUPER GOOD.

I’ve quietly resolved to not play this army against those I consider my friends, unless they specifically request it.

My second game was dusting off the Tyranids in a game against an Imperial Guard force that seemed eerily similar to my proto-lists, involving a lot of well equipped veterans, punisher pask, and some artillery.

Some highlights as follows:

  1. The Swarmlord managed to shake Pask with a Warp Blast, which allowed the unit of Tyrant Guard enough time to get in and blow up both Leman Russes.
  2. ….It was pretty much over after that.

The rest of it was kind of down-hill from there.  In fairness to my opponent, he hadn’t played Tyranids before, and while he was well equipped to deal with the plethora of threats I had on the table, didn’t quite implement them in the way I might have.  I think he learned from the experience and I imagine my next game against him will be much, MUCH more challenging.

DERP of the Week:

I’m just going to leave this right here….

Weiner Dog Wurst of the Week:

I’m going back to the well for this one, back when Colin was just a little pup, learning how to sleep:

Clearly, he mastered the art of sleeping at a very early age.
Clearly, he mastered the art of sleeping at a very early age.

Goals for Next Week:

Same as last week, nothing to see here….

  1. REPLACE LAMP (*double sobs*)
  2. Finish Skitarii Onager
  3. Continue 5x Skitarii Rangers (stretch goal)

 

 

If you have any suggestions for weekly headings for the Frag-Bag hit me up in the comments below. Cheers guys, have a great weekend!

One thought on “Friday Frag Bag – Monday Edition”

Leave a Reply

