Leap Day Update… More BOATS.

Welp, since my last confessional, I can confirm that I haven’t picked up a paintbrush since the last post.  Perhaps we can consider this a sabbatical?  Sure.  Why not.

When I would typically reach for the paint brush these days I’m logging onto World of Warships, which has been phenomenally amusing.  Some of my buddies have been joining in the fun also, and we definitely have something going.  Whereas before I would be content blowing up boats solo, now we have a squad, and we can laugh at each other as we learn how one exactly boats.

Last time I was in a boat-killing community, it was in 2004 to about 2007, with the Valiant Clan in NavyField.  Some of the friendships made in that community transcended the first game, and wound up being quite a lot more.  I run into these guys every now and again, in some random corner of the internet and it always blows my mind.  A few years ago I ran into some of the old RSF clan in EVE Online, but it just so happens that I ran into the Patriarch of the Valiants, Steveepl in a low-tier battle as I was helping my brother in law learn the fine art of torpedoes.

Mr. Oak and Mr. Stevee steam on into glory.
Mr. Oak and Mr. Stevee steam on into glory.

Really nice to run into the old crew, we exchanged some info, and we’ve been having fun sinking boats ever since.

In an attempt to find some pictures of the ‘good ol’ days’ this was pretty much all I was able to find:

Wherein, as a Light Cruiser I attempted to run down an Aircraft Carrier, but failed to do so, as he uncorks his armament into my side REPEATEDLY.  Death by CV by Gun.  Go figure.
Wherein, as a Light Cruiser I attempted to run down an Aircraft Carrier, but failed to do so, as he uncorks his armament into my side REPEATEDLY. Death by CV by Gun. Go figure.

World of Warships is definitely more advanced in terms of mechanics, and in terms player backing.  It really seems as though Wargaming.net has got quite a good gaming base going, with all the requisite streamers, youtube celebrities, and what have you.  I will say this also: it’s a beautiful game.

My Admiral Hipper takes a ranging shot into the open ocean.
My Admiral Hipper takes a ranging shot into the open ocean.

Of course, the thought occurs to me now, as I’m posting screenshots of the game, I’ve written about this before.  Of course, at that time this game was in its infancy, with closed beta testing ongoing, and only a few lines of ships open for people to play.

They’ve made some very fundamental changes to the way the armour plating on your ship is modelled in relation to the Armour Piercing shells that make this game a hell of a lot more tactical to play.  Gone are the days when you could very effectively spam AP rounds from just about any angle and have a very good damage result.

As a cruiser driver, you want to wait until your opponent shows you their broadside.  Even then, if their armour is sufficiently sloped in relation to your shell’s trajectory, you’re not likely to achieve much with the shot.  This is all as it’s supposed to be however, it’s just nice to know that the game mechanics reward shrewd gameplay and advance forward tactical thought.  In the CBT it seemed as though they were still working some of the kinks out.

Oh.  Did I mention this game looks absolutely gorgeous?

Kongo
The IJN Kongo makes port in… New York? During Chinese New Year? Whatever. It looks awesome.

All this makes me want to pick up my long-since abandoned project, the KM Bismarck at 1/350 scale by Tamiya.  When I started this in 2007, I had no idea what I was doing.  But I managed to do a pretty good job with the limited skill I had, masking and using some Testor’s spray-paints in order to get the colour for my camouflage pattern in.

an early stage project shot... February 2007.  Jeeze.
an early stage project shot… February 2007. Jeeze.

I think I dropped this project because I realized that the enamel paints that I had in stock were TERRIBLE for addressing the deck colours, particularly given that the hull was being done in the matte.  Regardless, I know a lot more about painting now than I did before, and I think I might pick this one back up soon.  Hopefully none of the pieces are missing.

Remember when cell phones that took pictures were BRAND SPANKING NEW?  Yeah.  This is a result of that.
Remember when cell phones that took pictures were BRAND SPANKING NEW? Yeah. This is a result of that.

 

Anyways.  That’s about it for now.  I’ve been really getting the itch for 40k again, hopefully get a game in this next weekend.  We’ll see how this goes!  Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

