Completed: Ryza Onager Dunecrawler, Infiltrators and Dominus

It’s been a while since I’ve actually finished some painting projects.  The Bismarck is on the back-burner once more (UNFORTUNATELY AND TO MY GREAT SHAME).  Recent campaign action have got me painting 40k again.  Which is awesome.

Without further stammering and humming and ha-ing:

First up, the Dominus.  This guy started off going quickly, and then got bogged down as I discovered that video games were a thing once more.  I like how he turned out, even if my photography skills are lacking.  Lighting is letting me down again.

First up, the Dominus. This guy started off going quickly, and then got bogged down as I discovered that video games were a thing once more. I like how he turned out, even if my photography skills are lacking. Lighting is letting me down again.

Then theres the dunecrawler.  He was a hoot to paint, and has all kinds of fun details that you can either get bogged down in, or skip over in favour of a more table-top quality.  Ill let you perceive for yourself which route I chose here.
Then theres the dunecrawler. He was a hoot to paint, and has all kinds of fun details that you can either get bogged down in, or skip over in favour of a more table-top quality. Ill let you perceive for yourself which route I chose here.
Last, and certainly not least, are the infiltrators, which took what felt like a decade to finish.  Im pleased with the overall product however, and I continue to mess around with the Agrellan Badlands for the bases which I struggle with greatly in general.
Last, and certainly not least, are the infiltrators, which took what felt like a decade to finish. Im pleased with the overall product however, and I continue to mess around with the Agrellan Badlands for the bases which I struggle with greatly in general.

Right now I’m chewing threw some rust-stalkers, which should go a bit quicker now that I’ve got a finished product to stare at in the infiltrators.  I’ve got a lot of painting to do for an upcoming Apocalypse game, so this’ll need to go pretty quickly.  Whether or not this happens remains to be seen.  Stay tuned!

Anyways, thanks for dropping by, leave a comment if you feel so motivated.  Cheers all!

5 Replies to “Completed: Ryza Onager Dunecrawler, Infiltrators and Dominus”

    1. Thanks Joe! I was a huge fan of the Ryza colour scheme as soon as I found it in the Skitarii codex. Typically Ryza has the orange on the outer side of the cloaks, robes, etc, and then the standard Mars-red on the interior side (because they can’t lose track of where they came from).

      Since the Dominus has rolled up his sleeves a bit, that’s why you’re seeing the red there.

      I’m trying to feature more red on the higher mucky-mucks (alphas and leaders) because the authority of Mars is with them more strongly.

      But yeah, everything works great 🙂

  1. This is such a beautiful color scheme. I’ve been using your skitarii for reference pictures while painting mine, hopefully they turn out half as good!

Leave a Reply

